Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    Lake Pukaki

    January 2, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    It didn't rain as much as it was supposed to overnight, but I did rain in the morning for a while but when I left the campground around 10 am I could already tell that it's gonna be nice weather today for the next of the day.
    So that's definitely much better than rain the whole day!

    I was a little unsure about the smoke. It was much less than yesterday but at that point hard to tell, what is smoke and what are clouds. So I traveled slowly, stop by Lake Tekapo one more time and then went to Lake Pukaki.
    I can imagine that it must be an amazing drive by car weather but I could only see the mountains a little bit through the smoke or whatever it is.
    But it got more and sunnier during the drive and so the color from Lake Pukaki was really outstanding in the sunshine! 😍
    It's even brighter then Lake Tekapo in the ice blue color.
    I stopped by different lookouts and took a lot of pictures, but Mount Cook is, unfortunately, hiding behind some smoke clouds and you can only guess where he is.

    I was going for a short walk to a Kettle Whole, that's a hole in a hill that was formed from a glacier 20000 years ago.
    Beside that you have a great view over Lake Pukaki and Mount Cook from there, if you have a clear view 🙈😂
    But I shout not complain so much, I was expecting rain today and this is definitely better than rain!!!

    I then decided to do a little scenic drive in the Twizel area where they were shooting some scenes from The Lord of the Rings, but also here the view is not as good as it could be because of the smoke. It was nice anyway and maybe I do it agin when I come back from Mount Cook. Maybe i am lucky then and have the perfect view!

    The last picture I took at the information center, just so you know what I would like to see... 🙈😂
    Read more