Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 40

    Tunnel Beach

    January 9, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    Also today the weather is quite nice. Still not really warm, but that's ok!
    It's sunny and a little bit windy.
    I went off after breakfast, first stop the famous Tunnel Beach. Jap it's really famous, a lot of cars around and hard to find a parking place 🙈 but I was lucky and got one after a short while.
    The walk to Tunnel Beach was down a hill, a real hill... Looking forward to the walk back already now😬😳

    But when I came around the first corner and saw where I was going I knew straight away it's gonna be so worth it!

    Already the area around is breathtaking with the coves and caves all around the coastline! The ocean is really rough today, also it's not blowing so much jet.

    To come to the beach you need to pass through a narrow tunnel with quite a few steps down the hill. The beach is only accessible around low tide!
    There was a seal or I actually think it was a female sea lion laying right under the tunnel on the beach, sleeping. Totally relaxed and absolutely not disturbed by all the people around. Some stupid people from China had to sit half a meter beside the seal/ sea lion for a selfie 🤬
    I had it that they can't respect the animals and keep a distance. 🤬
    I also said that out loud so they could hear it. It's also dangerous as they were standing between the animal and the ocean. So if the seal gets scared it will try to run to the ocean or in this case probably attack the stupid people in the way.

    I then took a walk around the small beach and then back up through the tunnel.
    The walk back to my car was better than expected! It was tough, but I stopped only 2 times to catch my breath and that was surprisingly less! 🤗
    Read more