Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 40

    Nugget Point

    January 9, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    In the early afternoon, I arrived at Nugget Point.
    I walked up and down the little hill to the lighthouse. It's a really nice place also with clouds now!

    Unfortunately, I couldn't go all the way to the lighthouse because former visitors have obviously been chasing around a poor shag so it is totally exhausted now and stressed out, so the lighthouse keeper had to close the last part of the track to protect the shag. He also had called for help from a wildlife unit to take a look at the shag and decided if they need to take it with and take care of it for some days or if they just help the shag to set off again.
    Humans can be horrible 🤬
    I don’t understand why someone can do something like this to an animal...

    As the weather wasn’t so good and the wind freshening up I decided to go to the campground, with a fast Stopp at Roaring Bay to see, if there are some penguins around. It’s too early for them, I know that, but always better to take a look! 😉

    My plan is, to get up early tomorrow and catch the sunrise again!
    Hopefully, the weather is with me! 🤞🏼
    Read more