Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    Slope Point and Waipapa Point

    January 10, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    Slope Point is the most southern point of the South Island! Now I have been visiting the most Southern Point of the South and North Island as well as the two points most north of both islands 💪🏼

    The wind was really strong now, it is like a storm now. It was really hard to walk against the wind. 💨
    I was really looking forward to the end of this day soon. I started to get tired as well, but I had only one stop left on my to-do list until I could drive to Invercargill where I will stay for 3 nights.

    The last stop was at the Waipapa Point and Lighthouse and it was a good one!

    With the bad weather, my plan was to just take a fast look around and then hit the road to Invercargill.
    Well, it came different. I met two women closed to a beach that told me, that there is a big sea lion swimming up and down the coast. So I was spending around 15 minutes watching him and hoping he would decide to get out of the water.
    He did not and I got tired of the weather and walk back to the carpark. I stopped at the lookout to the beach at the carpark as well, just to be sure to not miss a sea lion there and what was I seeing further down the beach, where I stood 15 minutes waiting for the sea lion to get out of the water?!
    Mister sea lion was on his way out!!!

    Well what shall I do, it's gonna be my first sea lion I guess, so of course, I walked back as fast as possible and I got there just in time, 2-3 minutes before he went back into the water! Lucky me! 😊
    It was a huge fella I can say, so much bigger than the fur seals! Wow! Now I am happy and more than ready to drive to the campground and end this day.
    I arrived at the campground and at 5.30 and at 6 pm it started to rain. Good timing!

    I just took a quick shower and a fast dinner and went to bed early, is was so tired!
    Read more