Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 47

    Key Summit Track I

    January 16, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 15 °C

    Today I feel really good again so I will do some walks here before I leave the Milford Sound area.
    At first, I had a really good breakfast together with a couple from the Netherlands and one couple from France. And there were a lot of Keas around again, but we mostly heard them, they just passed flying once.

    The first walk for today is the Key Summit Track. The first part of the track is actually a part of the Routeburn Track, one of the great walks in New Zealand. As they are so expensive here and also booked out I can’t do them, even though I would love to do especially the Routeburn Track.
    But at least I can walk a part of it at this end of the track. The track is really nice and easy to walk on, the climb up on the hill is also not too bad, actually, I thought it was quite easy, but I noticed on the way back, that it was not so easy for many other people 🙈😬
    I think I am in good shape now 💪🏼

    I reached the top of Key Summit after 1 hour and 5 minutes.
    Up there are some wetlands, which is pretty cool to see so far up on a mountain, it’s around 1800m above sea level.
    From here I had a nice view of the sourdough ding mountains!
    Really nice.

    The walk back was also nice a deadly so I finished the whole track in 2 hours and 10 minutes.
    I felt very energetic as I arrived at the carpark so I drove straight away to my next walking track for today 😊😉
    Read more