Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 49

    The Remarkables

    January 18, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    There are two walks in this area. A walk to Lake Alta and a walk to a lookout. The walk to the lookout looks quite steep so I was deciding to just do the walk to Lake Alta. Even this walk was quite tough in the beginning but got easier after 10-15 minutes.
    The lake is nice and the landscape around as well. I even found some snow.
    I overheard a couple talking about climbing up on a hill on the right side of the lake. On CamperMate it’s also standing, that you can climb up the hill and down on the other side to come to the lookout point. Obviously, a family did it with a 5-year-old and their comment was, that it was not to bad and the little one managed well.
    So I thought I could give it a go, as I am not alone doing it.
    This was not a good idea, really not. Don’t know what this family have for a 5-year-old, I think it must be a goat or so 🙈😬😅
    The climb up was a real challenge, loose stones and it was really steep. Well, we got up somehow and the view from up there was stunning. We had to rest for a few minutes. Then I tried to find the path down on the other side. I never found a path, and it was really not easy to get down that hill.
    I managed luckily and my legs were shaking.
    I followed the track to the lookout and it was so worth it to go all the way. But I would never recommend it to anyone to do it. Never!

    After that, I walked back to my car on the lookout track, didn’t feel for a return track over the hill 😅

    It took me in total more than 3 hours, so I decided it’s was time to drive to Glenorchy where I will stay for two nights.
    For that, I had to pass through Queenstown. I can say, Queenstown is totally crazy. So full and so busy 😳
    I am glad I don’t need to stay in Queenstown next week!

    The road to Glenorchy is so nice to drive. Awesome views along the road all the time. Glenorchy is also more like my style. Small little town, not so overrun and definitely nicer in many ways.
    But the campground is expensive here, not as bad as in Queenstown but still really expensive, everything is supposed to be more expensive in the area around Queenstown I heard.
    I had a calm rest of the day as it was so hot now and I did not feel for any more activity at all.
    Read more