Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 58

    Driving away from bad weather

    January 27, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    It started to rain around 0 o’clock at night.
    It was still raining at 8 am and not just a little bit. And unfortunately also into my car 😱😱
    Oh my god, I noticed a little bit of water coming in already a few weeks ago but now it’s not a little bit anymore, it’s a lot 😱😬
    And for now no end of the rain in sight 😅

    Luckily there is like a carport in front of one of the cabins at the campground so I moved my car under the roof to skip some rain for the next 2 hours at least.
    Yesterday’s weather forecast showed rain until 10-11 am and then the same like yesterday throughout today. But now the weather forecast is saying rain, a lot of rain for the whole day 😳
    And the worst is, that the clouds are hanging so low so you can barely see something at all.

    Well, I had breakfast and was then asking the owners of the campground if there is a mechanic in Fox Glacier. Luckily it is so I was driving there and was telling him, what my problem is but he was alone today and had more than enough to do already.
    I was spending 30 min thinking about what I gonna do now, staying here or in Franz Josef and hope for better weather later in the afternoon and tomorrow or keep on going towards Hokitika.

    I was ending up stopping at every mechanic on the way towards Hokitika but no one even had time to look at it... 😳
    And it was still raining...
    I arrived in Hokitika at around 2.30 pm, actually by sunshine!! Shortly before Hokitika, it stopped raining and the sun came out!
    And here I finally found a mechanic that could take a look at my car.
    But he said this can be a huge effort to find out what’s wrong and expensive as well. He asked for how long I will stay and as it’s only 2 1-2 weeks left he recommended not to dig into the problem. He but some ducktape over the areas that are a problem and said, I should buy one on my own and keep on doing this until it’s time to give the car back and never mention the problem 🙈

    Good is also, that I am traveling north towards good weather.
    So after a quick stop to fuel up and buy something to eat I kept on driving north for some hours and was, in the end, deciding to stay in Murchison overnight.

    I have been traveling this part of the Westcoast already last time I was here so I am not missing anything here.
    I only missed the glaciers and Lake Matheson now, but I will anyway need to come back again 😉😊

    In Murchison, the weather was really nice and warm. I arrived at 6.30 pm at the campground, quite tired after a long day on the road. So I wanted to get to bed early but was ending up talking to a family from Spain for some hours in the evening.
    Read more