Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 61

    Pekapeka Wetlands

    January 30, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    I woke up from the rain dropping on my car 😬

    But I must say, the tape is definitely helping and I could not see any water coming in 💪🏼
    Ok, it was not raining soo much but I am happy anyway.
    The weather forecast ist not to bad either, it should stop around early lunchtime.

    So I had a good breakfast, of coarse my new friend the cat was around again 😉🥰
    Cut little one and so in love with everyone that spends some time with her.

    I then drove into the town to buy some more tape, better I have some around when I need it!
    I also need my shopping and then left Carterton to drive to Hastings.

    As it was still raining I didn’t stop in the beginning.
    And so I was actually already almost in Hastings when I stopped for the first time.
    The Pekapeka Wetlands was a nice little stop beside the roads.
    I took a short walk here and then went actually straight to Te Awanga where I will spend the night.
    It got pretty hot during the day and it’s over 30 degrees now, so I was just not feeling for more adventures.
    I found an old but nice little campground here and as the owner could not change my 50$ note I got it even cheaper than the normal price.
    So I paid 10$ instead of 15$. Sometimes you need to be lucky 😉

    I got a spot right beside the beach and spend the rest of the day planning the next days.
    Here are living a lot of cats and dogs so I got a lot of animals around me to pet what I really enjoyed!
    I miss Snoopy really much and I am happy when I can borrow some other dogs for a little while.

    When I came back from dinner I saw this amazing sunset over the ocean, so I just left my stuff in the car and went to the beach.
    Read more