Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 62

    Te Mata Peak

    January 31, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    I woke up early enough to check out the sunrise but it wasn’t as good as the sunset yesterday.
    I tried to sleep a bit more but around 7 am it started to blow and it got quick to a storm.
    So I got up around 8 in the end to get some breakfast. It just got worst and worst and I was wondering if I would be able to do anything today.

    Luckily I don’t need to check out at 10 am here, I can stay as long as I want. So I decided to wait a little bit and see what’s going to happen as the weather forecast said it should get better around early lunchtime, but blowing throughout the whole day.

    Around 11 am it was getting much better and I decided it’s time to leave now.

    I went to Cape Kidnappers as I wanted to the cliffs up closed. But unfortunately, the track is closed at the moment because the cliff is not stabil. 😕

    So the first real stop for today is at Te Mata Peak.

    Nice to be able to drive up to the top when it’s so hot 🙈
    Yes today I am a little bit lazy.
    But it’s getting really hot now, supposed to be 35 degrees today!! 🥵
    The wind makes it easier to handle I can say.

    The view from the top was awesome, the wind horrible. 🙈😂
    So I didn’t stay too long up here and went back down.
    Read more