Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 62

    Waimarama Beach and Maraetotara Falls

    January 31, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    The next stop for today was at Waimarama Beach. Beautiful beach with a nice island in front of it!

    I was thinking back and forward here, if I should go for a swim or not, but was deciding against it in the end as it's quite a rough sea with the wind and knew I can go and swim and a waterfall soon.
    It also was a bit colder here at the beach, which was really nice!

    So I didn't stay so long, had a quick lunch and then went to the Maraetotara Falls. It was just around 25 minutes to drive from the beach there.
    It was a big problem to find a place to park the car. So many cars here already and such a small carpark. But I found a space where I could squeeze into.
    It was a 10 minutes walk down to the river and the waterfall. And this one is definitely well known!
    Many people here, a lot of families but also many dogs 🥰
    I got a new friend, a black Labrador that was very happy and came to say hello a few times.

    Well, I then went for a swim. Opps the water was muuuuch colder than expected 😱

    I was not the only one that got shocked. 🙈😬
    But I really wanted to cool down and go for a swim, I wanted it so desperately that I went in!!
    It took me a while but I went in for a fast swim and ten I got out again!
    It was cold but anyway really nice.

    I was sitting down in the shade for a while to get dry, talked with a family, the owners of my new dog friend until it was time to get going again.

    I then went to my next campground. It a little bit outside of Napier in a nice and quiet place 😊
    It was so hot during the evening and never really cooled down. The wind stopped during the evening and had really hard to fall asleep, as it was so hot, so in the end, I had the windows all open and the truck as well 🙈😂
    So I managed to fall asleep at least.
    Read more