Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 96

    Exmouth to Coral Bay

    March 5, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    Today Kara and I woke up pretty late, it was already 7 am! What a surprise! It’s our last day or half-day together, as she will fly from Exmouth to Perth today to catch her flight to Thailand tomorrow. So we both are really sad that our road trip together is coming to an end already as we had such a great time.

    First, we had a super good breakfast, as always. Then we were packing down our tents and searching for a place in the shadow where she can pack her bag. It’s already super hot again and it’s going to be around 38 degrees today again easily.
    But I must say, I am really used to the heat now and wonder how much I gonna freeze when I go to Melbourne where it’s between 15-29 degrees at the moment. 😬😅

    When Kara had packed all her stuff we went to clean the car a little bit as it’s so much sand inside everywhere. 🙈😂
    After that, we went to the city beach for a nice stop to wait until it was time to drive to the airport and we also gonna have lunch here together one last time.

    It’s a really nice place here with palm trees and a lot of benches and shade. Kara found some coconuts so she really wanted to get one down and open it up. 🙈

    We waited a bit until no one else was around and then she tried to get one down. And she was actually able to hit one a few times until it felt down. So we then went to a bench to check out the coconut from inside. Unfortunately, it didn’t smell and according to Kara didn’t taste like coconut at all. So we threw it away in the end.

    After that we had lunch and then it was almost time to leave and drive to the Learmonth airport around 25 min south of Exmouth.
    I dropped her off at 1.30 pm, probably too early as it’s a super small airport and her flight is going at 3.20 pm but she said she’d better be there too early than too late.
    It was sad to leave her there and drive on alone. 😕

    I went to Coral Bay afterward. It took me a little bit more than one hour and I arrived there at 2.45 pm.
    I stopped at the beach first but I couldn’t find a place in the shade so I went to the campground to check-in.
    I used the afternoon to pack my stuff a little bit as it’s spread out around the car and I will need to fit in two people and their bags tomorrow.
    So I moved around a lot of stuff or was even starting to throw away things I don’t need anymore to get enough space for Ya-Fan and Kris and all their stuff as well. Around 5 pm I was meeting with Ya-Fan. We went to her place to have a drink and talk for a while. I am so glad I found these people to take with me back to Perth! We are really coming along so good and it’s nice to have company for the long drive back to Perth and share the fuel cost with them.

    After 2 hours or so, we went to get something to eat. We were meeting Ya-Fan's boss and his wife and daughter on the way so they were joining us for dinner as well. And also Kris was showing up shortly after as he could leave earlier from work. So we had a really nice pizza and some good talks together and I really enjoyed the company. They went on afterward to the bar to have some drinks with friends but I’ve got too tired and I will need to drive around 7 hours or so tomorrow so I want to be fresh, so I went back to the campground to sleep.

    Anyway I had a really nice evening 😊
    Read more