Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Holy Extreme Tides, Batman!

    June 9, 2018 in Canada ⋅ 🌧 46 °F

    So from Amherst I booked it to Nova Scotia's South Shore. Just a little note: My bear magnet is in full effect! Within 30 minutes of crossing the border I was treated to a big black bear lumbering right out in front of me. Yes, I was in my car, safe and sound. He was spectacular and I am SO grateful for the glimpse. He looked up, freaked out, and ran away. Apparently he is not a fan of middle aged women with braids...
    As I continued on I noticed that this peninsula of Nova Scotia is big enough that each area has its own geography and feel. This south shore was the one area that I missed when I visited last summer. It is all red dirt, rolling hills of farmland and TIDES. Huge, mind-bending tides that leave exposed an ocean floor that is red dirt, too. Cornflower blue skies, cotton white clouds, bright green seedlings, and this brick red dirt. And in concert with this special part of Nova Scotia, I already feel the uniqueness of these people. There is "a thing" that is universal across Nova Scotia. I, personally, have a part of me that wants to help when I see someone with "that look" in their eyes. It might be a look of confusion or discomfort or fear. In any case, I always have an urge to step in and try to assist. I think some people label that as controlling. Those people(who see helping as controlling) should never come to Nova Scotia. It would drive them crazy. Nova Scotians are warm, open, helpful, easy going...need I say more?
    I made it all the way to Scots Bay, to the trail head for Cape Split, where I set up camp for the night. I was up high on a hill above the ocean. The sound of the waves mixed with the wind in the pines. Dark as dark can be. Cold, probably low 40's. And peaceful. I slept like a rock.
    Read more