Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Do-Over

    June 9, 2018 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 46 °F

    It isn't often that one gets a "do-over" in life. But driving this far north is allowing me to experience spring 2018 all over, again! Fiddleheads, lupine, buds of every configuration combined for that amazing, classic early spring interplay of greens. So many different shades of green! I love this time in spring, before the colors mature into something more uniformly emerald green. Right now there is a variety of hue in every direction. The sky, filled with puffy clouds, obscures the sun creating little patches of shadow. Layers of darkness and light challenges this non-artist, to label them. Labels aside, it is beautiful and fascinating and it fills me with emotions that are a reflection of the layers I see.
    I crossed the border, without incident, and stopped at the information center where I wished that you could hear what I was hearing. As I stepped out of the truck I was greeted simultaneously by the sound of bagpipes and a swarm of mosquitoes. The mosquitoes, as if responding to the music, seemed to dance around me, tugging at my skirt, vying for attention. It didn't work. All I could hear was the bagpiper!
    Read more