Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    What was I just saying?

    June 22, 2018 in Canada

    Did I seriously just yesterday morning say that I hadn't yet found a spot where I wanted to stop? Well that's just a little ironic. Ironic because just after writing those words I drove, in the rain, to Twilingate. Specifically, to Crow Head. I had heard that there was a pretty walk here and it didn't disappoint. Sleepy Cove is Magical! I parked, sat on the tailgate because everywhere else was still wet, and ate a big salad. You can see in photo one that the sky was starting to clear.
    I spent the next five hours wandering the cliffs of Crow Head. Blown away by the scenery. Entertained by the locals..by that I mean the Ganets and Seagulls doing a crazy aerial dive-bombing fireworks show as they plunged into the water snagging capelin and herring. A pod of more than 30 harp seals attacking the small fish from below would rise to the surface every three or four minutes.I couldn't stop watching. But, just as I was getting ready to retreat, a mother humpback and her calf came right around the point (pictured in photo#4) into the cove! the weather is forecast to do the same wet morning-sunny afternoon shift and I know where I will spend another afternoon. On the cliffs near Sleepy Cove, scanning for whales!
    Read more