Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 782

    Carnarvon National Park

    September 20, 2018 in Australia

    Today we are off to the Gorge as we have been told by many that it is well worth seeing. As we headed off on our walk with wonderment of what we would see and do, we thought that we would keep it short, so we chose Boolimba Bluff. I had my sticks with me as I was not sure how I would go after my second replacement of the same knee. Recovery had been slow. We cross the pebble stream and headed off on the meandering and slightly gradient path. We passed a few people but it wasn't until we were getting closer, to what was to be the most arduous part of the walk or should I say climb, when someone asked it I was going all the way. "I will, if I can but why do you ask" I said. He informed us that the next part of the path was more of a climb with narrowings, ladders and rocky steps for about 30 metres and then it flattens out again until you reach the lookout. We looked at each other and pushed on. As difficult as it was, I was not going to let it beat me. Boy was I glad when we reached the lookout and was able to sit for a whole. It was there that we had lunch, which I might add, that I carried on my back, as if I didn't have enough weight to get up there. The views we yet awesome again. I knew it would be worth it or at least was hoping. Have you ever got somewhere after a big effort only to be disappointed. This was not the case but I still think our own Victoria Grampians are better. Well at least I can say I've done it.Read more