Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Ha Giang, Lung Cu

    April 12 in Vietnam ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    I am starting to be a bit lazy to write the rapports. So I had to write it backward🙈

    Ha Giang loop, so famous for the backpackers! A lot pf people just come to Hanoi, take a bus to Ha Giang rent a motorbike for a few days and afterthat go back to Hanoi. Its probably one of the most beautiful part from nord Vietnam. And because of so many tourists riding a motorbike without a driving licence,(you need to have a international A. Normal driving licence B it's not enough) there is of course a lot of police controls focus just for them. I knew it and was a bit afraid of it, becouse I don't have A. I count on my luck, but this time I wasn't so lucky. After 100km after Ha Giang I got a police control. It wasn't so bad on the end. There was only one policeman, who could speak english. He told me some shits about driving here in Vietnam and than gave me two options. They either take my motorbike for 7 days or I will have to pay 1.5 Milion Dong (60 Euro). I said him I pay him just 1 Milion (40 Euro) or if he wants, he can take my motorbike ( I just bluff). And it worked! He watched me for a minute, than he took a milion and I could get out :) Funny story. It's not so much money for us from the europe, but here it's a lot of money. So I was a bit pissed of, because I heard it will be cheaper. Afterthat I said, that for next time I will have to have a fake international driving licence with an A, just on the picture in mobile. So now I have it and hope, that next time, there will be no bribe necessary.

    Well, after the experience I drove throught the most beautiful passes I have ever seen (just in Switzerland are more beautiful) to the northest part of Vietnam in Lung Cu, heard there the vietnam's anthem and drove for a next adventure.

    Btw at least I got lucky with a weather. It's not sunny, not rainy, not cloudy. It's still somehow between :)

    Next station: Cao Bang
    Read more