Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Cao Bang

    April 14 in Vietnam ⋅ ☀️ 33 °C

    Finally I got some time for writing. From northest part of the Vietnam I drove the motorbike to Cao Bang and explore a bit the close surronding.

    It wasn't so much to tell. The nature here was still very nice. The intresting part was the biggest waterfall in Vietnam, exactly on the border with china (there was a river, which split the two countries into, and between the waterfall). Well, the histrory about the chinese-vietnam war in 1979 was intresting. I didn't know about it. Two comunist's countries fought against each other. Funny! And actually the relationships are still not very good.

    Another intresting thing in Vietnam are some small villages which are/were specialized for specific wares. Normally, if you don't have a motorbike it's almost impossible to visit them, but luckily I have. So I visited a village which almost in every house produce the cinnamon, marble sculptures, incenses (vonné tyčinky), rice nuddles, knives, paper, wood curving and iron castings. All of them of course just handwork not a lot of machines. Man can't see something like this in europe anymore. Also the work protection was funny. Especially in iron casting village.

    Well, than the next stop will be the famous Halong Bay, which is one of the seventh new wonders of the world and many films ware filmed there (King Kong, James Bond ...). I hope, that I will get there a bit of relax, because I am already a bit tired after the 2 hard weeks of an exploration. So I am going to book a two days cruise there. The weather is still perfect!
    Read more