Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 164

    Searching for more Maya ruins - Palenque

    May 2, 2023 in Mexico ⋅ ☁️ 33 °C

    And when one Maya ruin is not enough you just visit multiple. When talking to several people in Guatemala they all said that the Maya ruins of Palenque, which are located in Mexico are equally nice! That’s why on a very sunny day I left Flores, little nervous but also excited to cross the boarder to Mexico. Luckily everything worked out and crossing the boarded was more relaxed than I expected.
    On my trip to Palenque I then met two guys from Spain - one who is very passionate about Mayan culture and the history. They told me about this hidden place where you can only go by boat to see Maya ruins in the jungle. Me seeking even more adventures I then asked them if I can join them! And wow it was so worth it! We went to Yaxchilàn and Bonampak which were equally beautiful! The tour was going the whole day but I was so ready to learn more about Mayan culture and history! Apparently, Yaxchilan, located on the banks of the Usumacinta River in the Yucatán peninsula of Mexico, was an important Late Classic Maya centre. The Maya dated the founding of their city to 320 CE, but Yaxchilan flourished between c. 580 and c. 800 CE. Bonampak, which means “painted walls” is known for it’s highly detailed frescoes —drawings telling the history of the people who lived here— painted on the inside of the walls and roofs of three buildings, which make Bonampak a true experience and major attraction for archaeologists and visitors alike. The frescoes are incredibly well preserved and the highlight of a visit to Bonampak. I just loved strolling around those archeological sites and seeing something so completely different. Once the boys and I got back to Palenque we went out for dinner and grab some drinks! So happy I could join both of them and really dive into the Mayan culture! Especially because all the tours were only offered in Spanish they helped me with translation and were the sweetest always making sure I understand. So thankful for that!
    Read more