Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 223

    Franz Josef - views of the Southern Alps

    June 29, 2023 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌧 7 °C

    On the way to Franz Josef from Queenstown I was able to have some amazing views over the Southern Alps (Video). I then stayed in the most amazing hostel so far! I just loved this hostel and the people there. The glow worm hostel surely did not disappoint! The first full day I stayed there I was able to do some very picturesque hikes in the area. I was able to see the Franz Josef glacier, passed mirror lake and hiked a total of 5 hours with great company. The Franz Josef glacier is not as spectacular as the Perito Moreno in Argentina, but it was still a great experience since the people left the original fences there and you could clearly see how reduced the glacier is by now compared the 1904. Crazy!
    The glow worm hostel was one of the most amazing hostels since we were all able to jump into a hot tub after the hike, breakfast was free and they always made free fresh vegetable soup at night for everyone! And the most unexpected thing was that the owner which is a kiwi organized a stretch limousine for all of us to go to a bar. So funny since the town of Franz Josef is so small and we probably drove circles since the walk to the bar would have only been 4 minutes. Still a really fun experience. We all got a free shot at the bar and I was responsible for pouring the shots.. professional haha
    I just loved this place and also the wonderful sunrises and having Mountain View’s at breakfast! Unfortunately I didn’t stay in Franz Josef that long since I really wanted to get to Greymouth and take the Transalpine train back to Christchurch. The bus ride to Greymouth however was also very beautiful and we managed to stop at Hokitika for a little bit to have coffee and walk around town.
    Read more