Satellite
Show on map
  • FLL 2020 Logistics Cont'd

    December 9, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 37 °F

    After being out and about with mom and Aylin for several days in a row, I took advantage of a cold day here in Colorado Springs (high of 36F / low of 19F) to stay home and deal with a few more details for our pre-T/A days in Ft Lauderdale.

    First up, Mui rented a car from Alamo to get us around. They claim to still operate a shuttle from FLL to Port Everglades, but I've read conflicting reports. I guess we'll see what happens when we go to turn in the car on 1 March. Worse case ... Uber or a taxi will get us to the port.

    While Mui was taking care of wheels for us, I was researching accommodations. It didn't take long to determine that booking two hotel rooms would be pricey ... especially since we'd also have to pay to eat out three times a day. So, I turned my attention to VRBO and the like for an apartment or bungalow or condo ... anything that would sleep three in two separate rooms.

    I found what I was looking for on Booking.com — Alani Bay Luxury Condos. A family-owned property ... with free parking, which is a big deal in Ft Lauderdale. We'll plan on having breakfast and one other meal at home ... maybe dinner ... if, that is, we don't meet up with friends who live in the area.

    We have until a month prior to our arrival to cancel if something else pops up ... not that I will be actively looking.
    Read more