Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 387

    Birthday Celebration

    April 11, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 64 °F

    We don't do birthday gifts, but we do go out for a meal to celebrate on special occasions.

    For my birthday today, we opted to go out for lunch, mostly because it tends to be too chilly in the evenings.

    My choice was Edelweiss, a family-owned German restaurant on the south side of Colorado Springs. The forecast was for a nice day, so we reserved a patio table. It was, in fact, a warm enough day that we didn't have to ask for the heater at our table to be turned on.

    Mui and I both had schnitzel ... he ordered the traditional Wienerschnitzel made with veal; I ordered the Ramschnitzel, which was made with pork and served with a mushroom sauce and a side of spaetzle. The schnitzels were perfectly cooked ... not even a tiny bit greasy.

    Since Mui had mentioned that it was my birthday, dessert was on the house ... the waiter's choice ... a yellow cake with a mocha mousse frosting. It was OK. But no matter ... Mui had a mini chocolate mousse "bomb" waiting for me at home.
    Read more