Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Eqip Sermia: Caught Some Calvings

    August 4, 2022 in Greenland ⋅ ☁️ 48 °F

    With Ultramarine at a standstill in front of Eqip Sermia, there was no doubt in my mind that we would be enjoying views of this river of ice from our veranda once we were back on board. Mui even picked up some cookies and hot chocolate from the self-serve coffee bar in the Panorama Lounge on deck 7 forward. Can you say “snack with a view?”

    The bonus of spending time on the veranda? I caught a snippet of some of the smaller calvings that were shedding ice from the terminus. Granted, such was the ship’s distance to the glacier that the calvings were not visible to the naked eye. But I got lucky because they were happening in the background of a video I was shooting of a zodiac cruising along the face of the ice.

    (See video #2 … look towards the right side where the glacier meets the water.)

    On the matter of Eqip Sermia’s retreat, I annotated a panorama I took from the veranda to show the ridge we climbed to in 2013 … and the area that was filled with ice at the time.
    Read more