Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Limassol, Cyprus. Greece and Turkey meld

    November 28, 2023 in Cyprus ⋅ ☀️ 13 °C

    We actually docked today. Limassol, Cyprus. After a mammoth day yesterday, today's pace was glacial by comparison.

    The highlights of my day were connecting with loved ones back home. Seeing photos of my eldest son Jay and his partner, Jordan's brand new home. I am so proud of how much they've sacrificed to achieve their dream. Chats with family. Reminders of how beautiful home really is.

    I disembarked with low expectations of this city. I attempted to immerse myself as I usually do in the culture. I walked a lot. Found a small Cafe and ordered a traditional Cypriot Coffee. Strong. Black. Bitter. It's not my favourite; though when in Rome. Or Cyprus.

    Knowing the predominantly Greek cultural influences of Cyprus, I dined on Moussaka. The Cafe was empty. I felt this may be a tourist Cafe, serving westernised versions rather than traditional Cypriot fare, though I gave it a go. Hoping I wouldn't be paying for a serving of salmonella.

    It was served piping hot. A good start. It was tasty, but not the delicious moussaka's I've had in times gone by. Made with pork mince. Not the traditional lamb or vegetarian variants I've enjoyed previously in Melbourne, or I add with arrogance, have made myself.

    I did enjoy a beautiful black cherry and blackberry frozen yogurt. Delicious.

    I explored a little. I even found the correct bus route back to the cruise terminal. I didn't attain consent from the bus driver to upload this video, though he did not speak English, and spoke on the phone the entire journey. 🙄.

    I returned to the ship at time of posting with plans of nana napping and movies. It's all about balance after all, and I'm conserving my energy. For tomorrow. I'm off to explore one of the worlds seven wonders. The pyramids of Egypt.

    We'd better be able to dock.
    Read more