Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Bugibba

    November 14, 2018 in Malta ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    Good evening all. Day 4 of our Malta trip and it’s my birthday today. It seems that we had a couple of casualties last night which resulted in a shaky start to the morning. Joseph and Sharon both calling Hewie on the big white telephone in the night due to over indulgence in the alcohol department. Although I didn’t witness this, I’d love to have seen it, Joseph swam from his bed to the toilet to be sick, proper full on strokes across the floor 😂😂

    Anyway I was up and about around 8 to be met with a grunt which meant said Mrs M needed another half an hour. Again we awoke to a pleasant day, a bit more cloud around but still plenty of sun and still around 22 degrees. We had our usual cuppa on the balcony and I opened my Birthday cards and pressies. After we were advised by our little 5 year old buddy that we needed to do what her and Max wanted to do first instead of the grown ups like we had all week, we met for breakfast in our swimming gear. I was greeted with more cards, and 2 very special home made ones from 2 lovely children Max and Izzy. Breakfast was as good as ever but poor old Joe looked a little peeky 😂.

    After testing the outdoor pool for temperature, the global decision was made that it was Baltic and we’d use the inside one despite Max and Izzy paddling and Izzy going full on in to the outdoor one. Again another hour or so just messing about and playing which was good fun.

    We gave John a day off the driving today and we took John and Naomi, Aunty Gemma took the kids. We went off to Bugibba. Again a lovely place and very special as we saw where Aunty Jack had been scattered. We spent a bit of time walking on the rocks and the prom around there and Izzy and Max were told to look for the sparkly bits in the sea as they were Aunty Jack. Really lovely and a lovely way for us all to remember her. We walked up to the town and looked in a few shops and stopped for a refuel and a drink in the square. Gemma was telling us that’s where they took my grandma and grandad some years ago. I remember them going but I never went as I wanted to stop at home on my own. I was 17 so that would have been some 28 years ago. As we walked back to the car, John and Joe spotted doughnut shop and went in for one, I declined. However when they came back out and showed them us, I changed my mind, they were fabulous big and really inviting so I had a custard one and Sharon had a couple of doughnut bites.

    As we got back to the hotel, we went and had a spot of lunch. Wasn’t hungry but it’s obligatory when you’re all inclusive. We were back first but thats cos Aunty Gemma had taken the kids to Golden Bay beach for an ice cream, I’m sure it’s because we won the race back so she had to call off somewhere 😂😂. Anyway, an afternoon nana nap before meeting for dinner this evening. A bit later tonight as we were booked in the Brazilian restaurant for my birthday. It was fab, meat meat and more meat. I got a bottle of Cointreau as a pressie presented to me by Izzy and had a cake too courtesy of Sharon. The food in this hotel is fab.

    Finally we went to watch the show but as we were a bit late in, it was standing room only. Again another good show. A fabulous day all round yet again and thanks to everyone who made it so lovely, cousins, 2nd cousins and all the texts and Facebook messages.
    Read more