Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Stopping for coffee with a surprise

    April 10, 2018 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    After a picnic lunch, I became super sleepy and was dosing off all the time, missing the beautiful views. So after we tried having a short nap that didn't really help we mage the sensible decision and stopped for coffee. It made us grateful that we brought a picnic - this place had small pastries for 9-10 dollars each, we didn't even dare to look at other food prices... On the way back to the car, I want up to a tree to look at its unusual flowers and then to my amazement a hummingbird flew up to it. In my excitement all I could do was keep shouting, "look Seamus, a kolibri" to which he kept asking what a kolibri was, and I just kept saying, a kolibri, a kolibri! Finally he spotted the bird too, so he informed me it's name was a hummingbird. It was really incredible to me to see one just hanging out in front of a bar. In general there seems to be much more wildlife about, and lots of them are pretty and exciting and new for us. Almost every minute you can spot a hawk circling around the sky as well, they are also beautiful.Read more