Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Final Day in Hampi

    February 20 in India ⋅ ☀️ 35 °C

    Today was our last full day in Hampi. We started off the morning by going to the Royal Palace ruins. They had a few fun surprises but weren't as good as the first days, simply due to the lack of detail compared to the first day's structures. Highlights included the underground passage which was seriously creepy and dark (felt like a mummy would jump out at any moment), and the elephant stables.

    Instead of rickshawing it back we decided to walk back via the old historic path, which was lovely (but quite overgrown in parts). We saw more wildlife on route including a ruddy mongoose and wild peacocks!
    By 10.30 it was already so hot walking that we flopped into the nearest cafe when we returned and drank lots of water and ate a hearty breakfast. (I got porridge with papaya in it!)

    After an afternoon rest which also included doing our laundry, we headed out for a late lunch on a rooftop cafe.

    After lunch I got an ice cream and we decided to wander to the temple and watch the monkeys. As soon as the monkeys saw me from across the street a huge male started bounding towards me at which point I start saying "Shit, shit, shit" knowing full well I was about to get roughed up by a monkey for my ice cream. To avoid this I quickly threw my ice cream to the floor and backed away. The money immediately jumped on it and greedily enjoy his spoils. Lesson learnt don't eat treats in front of monkeys.

    After this we gave up on our original plan for the evening and decided to settle down for a comedy film in bed.
    Read more