Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Camino Del Norte - Day 12

    June 22, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Camino Del Norte - Day 12

    Santilana Del Mar to San Vicente De La Barquera
    Distance 34km (7.5 hours)
    Total ascent 440m

    I had a great night's sleep in my tiny Albergue. I set off at 5.45am primarily thanks to someone's alarm going off to 'I will survive'.
    A few of us were out the door in the dark. I walked alone for a few hours until I met a French couple I previously walked with. We spoke for a short time and I got on my way.
    Today was very much my Camino day. I spent a lot of time reflecting on my life and relationships. It really slows walking down and a lot of time is spent internal dialogue.
    I passed through the still sleep villages.
    Nowhere was open even for a coffee. By 9.30am, I covered 15km and arrived at a stunning beach near Cobraces. I sat there for 15 minutes just marvelling at the place and chatting to an Italian couple from the Albergue the night before.
    This seemed to break me out of my thoughts and I set out with a lighter heart.
    By midday, I arrived at my destination Comillas for the day but mdecided to buy some lunch in a supermarket and carry on for another 10 kilometers to a small vfishing village called St. Vicente De La Barquera. I am really glad that I did. The Albergue was situated high above the town close to a 13th century Gothic church called Santa Maria de Los Angeles. It holds the tomb of the Inquisitor Antonio del Corro. The village is also dominated by the ruins of 8th century castle.
    The Albergue hospilardo couldn't do enough to help us.
    An English peregrino and I went for an early meal. I had an amazing sea bass dish. When I got back to the Albergue, I met a German girl who I had walked with on the Camino France's two years ago. We had a chat for about an hour before I turned in.

    I don't know what/where I would end up tomorrow
    Read more