Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Camino Del Norte - Day 25

    July 4, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 32 °C

    Camino Del Norte - Day 25

    Baamonde to A Roxica
    Distance 25km (6 hours)
    Ascent 150m

    Baamonde was a very small village that depends heavily on the Camino. The Albergue was modern and spacious as it is on the 100km mark to Santiago. This is the minimum distance, a pilgrim must walk to receive a compostela.
    Thankfully, the nearby restaurant served early dinner so I was in bed before 8.30pm.
    I set off alone this morning at 5.45am. Claudia was already ahead of me by 30 mins. It was still very dark but cool. It was easy to follow the Camino markers. After walking on the road for 45 mins, I found myself in very dark woods. I feel really strong and my feet are in good condition.
    After 14km, I caught up with Claudia and we stopped for breakfast. I had bought bread, cheese and a tomato the night before. Breakfast was quickly devoured and we were on our way. As we set off, I realised that I had dropped my guide book somewhere on the Camino this morning.
    Claudia and I stopped a short time for coffee in Miraz. We were joined by our French peregrinos who FOUND my guidebook. There was much celebrations.
    The scenery was stunning and the walking was a pleasure. We were joined by a Russian pilgrim and chatted as we walked along. The heat slowly built up to 30C.
    By noon, we arrived at our tiny Albergue in A Roxica. It is a small farmstead with a population of three. Thankfully, I rang ahead and booked us beds for the night as it was full. The Albergue is fantastic, very modern and perfectly suited to pilgrims.
    Admin done, it is a case of staying out of the fierce heat, avoiding the flies and relaxing before a communal dinner.

    Tomorrow is another easy 25km. I have booked a hotel in Santiago for three days with a private bathroom......bliss 😎

    I have included some pictures of the Baamonde Albergue, wildlife encountered and general pictures on the Camino....enjoy.
    Thank you all again for amazing support and donations to B.I.R.D
    Read more