Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Castilbanco - Altadena de la Plata

    September 21, 2018 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    Day2 Castiliblanco to Altadena de la Plata
    It was an early start from the Albergue to the next pueblo 30kms away.
    The only problem was walking 16kms along a road before turning into a national park.
    The first few hours were in the dark but after dawn the temperature quickly rose in the 30C again.
    The trail passed through cork plantations. I had to carry 3 litres of water as there were no facilities.
    There were few peregrines on the trail. As the heat of the day became worse, I got slower and slower. I had to take many water breaks.
    The real sting in the tail came in the last kilometre when I had to climb 300ft over a hill to drop down to the pueblo. I really struggled to get to the top but my roar, when I did get there, must have been heard in Seville.
    I literally staggered into the village 7.5 hours after setting out. Although, I must have stunk to high heaven, I went into a restaurant and ordered the menu of the day.
    The waitress was lovely. I drank 3 litres of water with my meal which really restored my energy.
    I am now settled in the municipal Albergue in this pueblo.
    Tomorrow’s distance will be 14kms to El Real de la Jara. I could walk another 20kms to Monesterio but I am not going to push my luck.
    Hasty luego.
    Read more