Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Altadena de la Plata - A good day

    September 22, 2018 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 33 °C

    Day 3 Altadena de la Plata to El Real de la Jara
    14km 3.5 hours.
    I set off from the wonderful municipal Albergue at 6.45am. There were only 6 peregrinos in the dorm Most were walking to Monestrio 34km. After the last few brutal days, I opted for 14kms particularly as it will be much hotter today.
    The first few hours were spent walking alone in darkness through rural farms.
    Thankfully the dogs, I encountered in the farmsteads, were curious and not aggressive.
    I meet a few of the peregrinos on the path. They had stopped for breakfast.
    I passed through vast areas of goats and black pigs feeding on acorns. The whole area is called the North Sierra National Park. The area is vast.
    After a few big hills, I finally arrived in El Real de la Jara at 10.15am. My day walk was complete. I stopped at the municipal Albergue at the entrance to the village. It was empty. The routine is grab a bed, do your admin and the hospilardo calls at sometime to register you and take the 10euro payment. The Albergue looked very dark, unclean and uninviting.
    There was a private Albergue a few doors down that had good reports and more importantly WiFi for the same price.
    As it’s Saturday, most places are closed. I did manage a sandwich in a bar and to get some fruit. This weight loss program should achieve some results.
    Tomorrow will be 20km (around 5 hours) to Monesterio. As it will be Sunday, I will start early to be in time before the restaurants and shops close.
    Hasty luego.
    Read more