Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Santiago de Compostela to Negreira

    October 16, 2018 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Camino Finisterre - Muxia

    Santiago de Compostela - Negreira

    Distance 22 kms (4.5 hours)

    The hostel, I stayed in last night, was fantastic. I spent the afternoon wandering around the city. It was wonderful. I visited the cathedral after the noon mass. This meant that I did not gave to queue to hug St. James statue or see the relic chest said to contain his bones.
    It was lovely just sitting in the main square watching the other peregrinos as they finished their Caminos.
    As I collected my Compostela yesterday, there were film crews filming the process. Apparently, 300,000 pilgrims walked the Caminos this year!
    This morning, I got up at 7am and set off on the Camino Finisterre. Al Cox and I walked this stretch two years ago. This time, it was a lovely dry morning. I reallly enjoyed the walk and seeing the familiar sights again.
    I felt great and strong. There were a couple of BIG hills but I quickly overcame them.
    I arrived in Negerira at noon and felt I could have gone on but I had already decided that that was it for the day. Lunch and a couple glasses of wine, I intend to relax for the afternoon.
    And that was my 28th day on walking and day 1 on the Camino Finisterre / Muxia
    Read more