Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Negreira to Olveiroa

    October 17, 2018 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 12 °C

    Negreira to Olveiroa

    Distance 35kms (7 hours)

    I left Negreira at 8am this morning. It was cool but perfect for walking. For the first time in the Camino, I passed lots of peregrinos walking to Finisterre.
    I really enjoyed walking alone. I stopped at a picnic site near a pueblo called Santa Marina for lunch and as I set off again, it started to rain heavily. My little pop up umbrella worked a treat. It meant that I didn’t have to put my waterproof jacket on. I didn’t take many pictures today but the first half of the day was fantastic. The Camino was high in the hills. The light was perfect and there were cloud inversions in the valley floors.
    I arrived in the small pueblo Olveiroa at 3pm. The Xunta Albergue is very strange. It is a combination of different buildings serving different purposes - reception, basic kitchen and habitation. I’ve hand washed my clothes but am not hopeful of getting them dry for tomorrow.
    I have had a peregrino’s dinner in a bar next door. I have 38km to go to Finisterre. I will walk about 20kms to Corcubion which will put me on the coast. That will leave a mere 14km stroll to Finisterre on Friday.
    The weather promises to be better for the remainder of the week.
    And that was my 29th day on a Camino and my 2nd day on the Camino Finisterre - Muxia.
    Read more