Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    Finisterre to Muxia

    October 20, 2018 in Spain ⋅ 🌬 18 °C

    Finisterre to Muxia

    Distance 29kms ( 5.5 hours)

    A very crowded Albergue last night. Lots of noise and smelly peregrinos. I think I might actually be getting tired of the Camino or rather those that don’t take personal hygiene and washing their clothes seriously. I had to try to sleep next to a particular smelly peregrino last night. In the end, I gave up the will to live and got up at 7am. Sunrise wasn’t until 9am but I couldn’t stick it any longer.
    I was out the door by 7.30am and on the Camino to Muxia.
    I was so pleased to be just in the fresh air. The Camino was well marked and I was quickly climbing hills into the countryside.
    I intended to stop in Lires overnight but found myself there at 10.30am. It did not look an inspiring place so I just carried on.
    Around noon, I found a small cafe stop and enjoyed a cafe con leche and a tuna pastry.
    I met some peregrinos walking from Muxia to Finisterre. The confusing part is that there are bollards and arrows in both directions.
    I eventually arrived in Muxia at 1pm and registered at the Albergue. It is fantastic and only costs 6 Euro’s. You can only stay if you gave walked from Santiago or Finisterre. I also collected another certificate.
    Admin quickly completed, I was out the door for some substantial food. There I met the lovely girl I had spoken to in Olivado.
    I walked to the headland at Muxia to see the lighthouse and the astonishing church there. As I got there, I gate crashed a wedding. What a setting! They had traditional Galician singing and dancing.
    It is a wonderful place to end my blog.
    Tomorrow, I have four more days of walking back to Santiago de Compostela and then I will travel to Lisbon to meet my beautiful wife.
    I intend to use that time to reflect on what has been another amazing Camino without any distractions.
    Thank you all for your amazing support and words of encouragement.
    This was my 32nd day on the Caminos and the 5th on the Camino Finisterre / Muxia.
    I will have walked for 36 days and covered over 900kms.
    Read more