Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Porlock to Lynmouth

    August 29, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    Porlock to Lynmouth

    Distance 14 miles

    This trail has been inspired by the book ‘The Salt Path’ by Raynor Wynn. It is an amazing story of a couple who walked the trail after losing everything.

    After a restful night, I set off at 8am on the the trail to Porlock Weir and then onto the hills. There were BIG hills today and then levels sections through beautiful forest hugging the steep cliffs.
    I visited Culbone Church which had stood for over 900 years..
    After that, it was a long slog to Lymouth. A little trail magic brightened up my day before reaching Foreland Point.
    I eventually arrived in Lynmouth in the spills of rain and quickly exited as the place was packed with tourists.
    The climb out if Lynmouth is very steep. As I had seen enough hills, I took the Cable car up to Lyndon thereby avoiding a heart attack for the princely sum of £3.50
    I arrived at my campsite at 3.15pm exhausted. Admin done and a table booked in the pub next door for a Thai dinner.
    Read more