Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Lynton to Combe Martin

    August 30, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    After a fantastic Thai meal last night, I slept eleven hours through the monsoon overnight.

    I set off at 8.30am and got a few provisions for a picnic lunch on a cliff somewhere on the trail.

    The day started with the trail going through the Valley of Rocks and then onto some more BIG hills.

    You despair when you see the trail drop steeply down to sea level and you can see the path rising very steeply across the other side. 😬 There were several today and don’t my legs know it.

    The trail is beautiful. There are views of South Wales and the route ahead. The heather is in full bloom and my sugar level is supplemented by eating blackberries.

    Another tough day but it was warm and dry. What more can a person want.

    After six hours, I arrived exhausted in Combe Martin. It is a quaint small holiday town. After quenching my thirst with a cider, I made my weary way to a campsite on the outskirts of town. Admin done, it’s time for a bite to eat. No fish and chips for me. I will try a healthy option tonight.
    Read more