Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Lower Yelland to Westward Ho!

    September 2, 2023 in England ⋅ 🌙 18 °C

    Lower Yelland to Westward Ho! 12 miles

    Last night was very restful even after a few pints of ale from the Brewery next door. A truly eccentric landlord.
    I set off this morning at 07.20am with a light pack. It was to be another glorious day. The path basically continues around the Taw estuary.
    I quickly got to Bideford and stopped briefly for middle breakfast.
    Most of the trail is suburban but there was a brief section through National Trust land which was very pleasant. I passed a Harland & Wolf shipyard with a baby Goliath lift which brought back happy memories of Belfast.
    Before long, I was passing through Appledore which was busy with families crab fishing or swimming.
    I entered the Northampton Burrows Cohntry Park which looks across the mouth of the estuary to Crow Rock. The walk continued around a golf course and followed a beach protected by a huge pebble defence wall into Westward Ho!
    The distance took me 4 hours.
    After a little food shop, I caught the bus back to the campsite.
    Admin completed, it’s time to let my feet recover.
    Tomorrow, I will walk from Westward Ho! to Clovelly. The scenery will become more dramatic.
    Read more