Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Croyde to Lower Yellard

    September 2, 2023 in England ⋅ ☀️ 15 °C

    21 miles

    Last night, I indulged in a second dinner of smashed burger and chips at the canp site. I set off this morning at 6.30am. My tent was soaked.

    The beach was packed with surfers jostling for waves. High tide was in but I managed to wak along the beach to pick up the Coatal Path. The next couple of hours was spent walking on a busy road from Croyde to Braunton. It was not a pleasant experience. I intended to walk the 3 mile length of Saunton Sands but the tide was lapping against the dunes. This meant a boring walk along Braunton Marsh.
    The temperature was 23C with no wind.
    I was feeling pretty fed up and was considering bailing out at Barnstable. These thoughts persisted all the way along the sea defences around the Taw estuary to Barnstable.
    I bought some lunch and sat watching a demonstration again race hate. I ended up chatting to a police woman managing the event. She told me that I would miss some amazing scenery if I bailed out.
    I did research trains from Barnstable home for today and for the first time ever, I’ve got to thank the rail strikes - no trains. Decision made.
    One pint later, I was back on the trail which also encompasses the Tarka trail and yomping towards Biddeford, listening to AC/DC. Fine music to get the miles in.
    The trail continued to be easy but very boring. I arrived at my amazing campsite very footsore.
    Fate has interceded because this one has a BREWERY…hurrah 🍺.
    Admin done, I will have a light tea and a few beers. I feel that a snore fest is coming on. I am staying another night here so will do a light pack day tomorrow to Westward Ho!
    Read more