Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Ilfracombe to Croyde

    September 1, 2023 in England ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Ilfracombe to Croyde 14 miles

    Stats 53 miles 86 Kim’s 12,788 ft ascent

    I caught the 7.10am bus from Combe Martin to Ilfracombe and immediately set off on the trail in the spills of rain. Not a good start but 30 mins later, the sun came out.
    The walking was strenuous with big ascents into narrow coves and back up the other sides. Lundy Island was glowing in the Bristol Channel.
    Just before the stunning Lee Bay, I encountered a herd of cattle blocking the path. A poke with my walking poles and instructing them with ‘move along ladies’ meant I got past without incident.
    Lee Bsy is beautiful so I sat on a wall, admiring the scenery, and had middle breakfast.
    Back to the steep sections until I arrived at Morte Point pretty tired. I now turned south to Woolacombe. After some refreshment ( I’ve taken a shining to Thatchers Cider 😬), I walked the length of the vast beach full of holiday makers.
    I finally arrived in Croyde to a surfers festival taking place.
    The campsite is doing pop up street food and chill out music. I did my best to support the local economy.
    Admin done, I will enjoy the rest of a lovely day. Tomorrow, I will get to Barnstable.
    Read more