Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Bude to Crackington Haven

    September 8, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    10 miles 24C

    134 miles 7897m cumulative Ascent 25,912 fr

    I said goodbye to my fellow walkers this morning. We’ve enjoyed each other’s company the last few days. Although, I’m pretty sure one of them is lying low from the law.
    I decided to walk with a light pack and bus it back to Bude. I set off at 8am. There was a low sea mist all along the coastline but every now and then it cleared. This section was busy with day walkers and tourists on the path. I think that a number seriously underestimated the distance and how tough the path got.
    The path was very pleasant to Widenouth Bay. The beaches were busy with surfers and retired folk walking their dogs.
    I quickly made distance until I hit some BIG ascents and descents.
    The sea mist kept me cool but the humidity was high.
    As I approached my destination for the day, I was a stunning section called the Cleave. It was a thin precipice which was shrouded with sea mist on either side. It was amazing. I stopped for lunch on Castle Point before dropping into Crackington Haven.
    I had just enough time for a quick soda water and lime before catching the bus back to Bude.
    Read more