Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Morwenstow to Bude

    September 7, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 27 °C

    7.5 miles 26C

    The overnight stop at the Bush Inn was fantastic. Caught up with three other coast walkers who also pitched up at the pub. I had a second meal and a few pints before we all settled in for the night.
    We were all up at 0615 and I was on the path for 7am.
    It had rained overnight but all my kit was dry.
    For the next two hours, I crossed some BIG headlands. They were truly stunning. I was happily motoring on with Van Morrison on my iPod. I could see two of the guys from last night just starting their descents into the coves as I was ascending on the other side. Yesterday and todays ascents were 1,271m.
    The day was overcast and we had one brief cooling shower. Although, it was humid, you certainly could feel the heat building up.
    I passed a huge radar/listening station that dominated the landscape.
    By 1030, the two guys had caught up with me. Our energy levels were depleted but we were over the worse. We came upon a cafe and quickly demolished our full English breakfasts.
    The headlands reduced in their severity which meant an easy walk into Bude.
    The town is packed. We managed to find a small campsite on the outskirts of town.
    After quick showers, we were all into town to find a laundrette because with this heat and effort, we pose a serious health risk to ourselves and the public.
    The temperature continues to rise but early starts are the answer
    Read more