Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Hartland Quay to Morwenstow

    September 6, 2023 in England ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    8 miles 26C

    A great night at Stoke Barton campsite near Hartland Quay. I ended up chatting to a chap who had just fastpacked with a very light pack from Hartland Quay to Bude. He was absolutely exhausted. He strongly recommended splitting the distance in two. As the temperature was peaking at 26C again, I have followed his advice.
    I set off at 8am with a full pack. I kept leap frogging other coast walkers.
    The path took me over amazing his cliff paths but after each one there was a steep descent down to sea level and back up. Absolutely exhausting.
    I walked briefly with a couple from Bristol who’ve walked the SWCP path four times.
    Eventually, I arrived exhausted at the 13th Century Bush Inn at around 1pm. The staff will let you unofficially camp in their beer garden if you have a meal. Absolute no brainier as temperature continues to rise.
    I had a few pints and a lunch. Admin completed by having a bottle of water shower and rinsing my clothes.
    I intend to chill out the rest of the day in the shade and watch the shattered walkers come in.
    Tomorrow, I will set off early and complete the seven miles to Bude. There are still more severe hills on this section to walk. I need to beat the heat which is a ridiculous thing to say in the UK.
    Read more