Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    First full day!!

    January 31, 2023 in Thailand ⋅ 🌙 26 °C

    When we say full Day, we actually only woke up at 1 pm sleeping very well Except for a brief interruption at 2:30 am from the people in the bank next to us rather noisily saying goodbye to each other.

    I’m glad we went to the Siam museum first as I really knew very little about Thai culture or history but now I have a vague idea of what “Thainess” is. There was a bit of a photo tour of Wat Pho with Livi where we saw a few different monuments to Kings (Rama I - IV) and a massive reclining golden Buddha.

    I managed to persuade Livi to walk to Chinatown rather than take a taxi, and honestly I love is going through the completely local ad non-touristy streets of Bangkok in rush-hour dusk.

    Chinatown wasn’t quite where we first ended up but we found it eventually. With its hanging red lanterns bustling atmosphere and deliciously cheap food it was definitely worth a visit.

    And now we’re back at the hostel. Livi is feeling a bit rotten so has gone to bed and I’m either going to go downstairs and grab myself a beer or try and sort myself out for tomorrow after writing this.

    I know every day will probably sound quite a lot like this so I’m going to try and move away from just saying what I’ve done because chances are it’ll all be “amazing“, “great“, or “cool“. i’ll update it maybe a couple of times a week giving the highlights (and probably the lowlights too), but to be honest I’ll just put on here whatever I feel like sums up my experience best.
    Read more