Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Day of markets

    February 1, 2023 in Thailand ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    Data in Bangkok dawned and we had made a vow not to sleep in so the full date was available. We also told the friendly local called try that we would go on his tour to the floating markets (Damnoen Saduak) and the train market (Rom Hub).

    He spotted us from all the way down the street as we dipped into a 7-eleven and ushered us into a car of a man called Nikhom. I was actually a bit suspicious of a scam as 500 Baht for a trip to markets two hours outside of Bangkok seemed a little bit too good to be true but I knew where each market was and what they were called so I would know if we were heading to the wrong place.

    I grew in confidence as we seemed to be heading in the right direction and then eventually was very pleased when we arrived at the right place, although maybe still a little suspicious that he would ditch us there.

    It was then that I discovered the real scam. 3000 Baht (about £75) each for the boat tour round the market. Without thinking me and Livi just paid straight away by card Then as we climbed in the boat I realised what we’d just done.

    I was pissed off. I sat there ignoring all attempts from vendors to sell me tourist tat and got off the boat at the first restaurant. The pad Thai helped ease the anger a little but I was still tempted to call it a day and head back to the car as being asked to buy overpriced shit was annoying me even more.

    Luckily Livi was there and so we stuck it out. The second part was much better, the driver realised we weren’t buying much so we just grabbed a coconut ice cream from my boat and then sped down some backstreets to a couple of local Wats down the river

    I noticed all of the boat engines are very loud and quite pimped out with turbos and LEDs so I can see where all our money is going. Wherever you are in the world, Men will still be men And pimp out their machines, turning owning a boat into a dick measuring contest for no reason, just because they have the money. It’s really great to see tourist money going to flashy vehicles instead of something actually beneficial to the community.

    Anyway, we were off to the train market, Ron Hub, next which was small but much more reasonably priced with no entrance fee. When the train came through it was so wide it looked like it would hit some of the stalls even after they’ve been moved back off the tracks.

    On the car ride back me and Livi were fighting sleep and both dozed off a little bit. Arriving back we had a nap, Spoke to some Swedish girls that had just arrived then went to dinner before bed.
    Read more