Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Waterpark and hiking

    February 17, 2023 in Thailand ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    Talking about throwing myself into touristy things, I spent the next day throwing myself around the Grand Canyon water park.

    I went by myself but met an Aussie bloke who had also come solo. Amongst all the fun of jumping, sliding and falling off the various inflatable obstacles I managed to win myself a couple of free drinks from the hydrofoil scooters by completing a full lap of the enclosure.

    In the evening I briefly met up with Adam from Pai in the night markets then followed Cosima from my cooking class for more drinks. She told me of her plans to go and see some fairly touristy things the next day and even though I am enthusiastically agreed I decided the next morning that I would rather go on a hike.

    The hike I was looking for was called the monks trail and have been recommended to me by some people. It was meant to only be a loop of about an hour through the jungle stopping off at a meditation retreat hidden in the trees. I accidentally took a wrong turning and ended up climbing up the entire mountain to Doi Suthep at the very top. The view of a Chiangmai was incredible but I was knackered and had to get a Coke to revive myself. I wisely decided to get a red taxi back to the city so that I could get some food in me sooner rather than later.
    Read more