Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Ziplining and lagoons

    February 28, 2023 in Laos ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    It’s been a busy week in Vang Vieng as I suspected it might. There are heaps of activities to do and nightlife he is good so as I write this I’m feeling a little burned out and ill after a long week of activities and late nights. I’m writing this at the end of the week but I’ll split it up into a few entries as a lot has been happening.

    My first couple of nights here crossed over with the last couple of some of my friends from Pai So I prioritise seeing them for dinner and doing zip lining within the next day instead of tipsy tubing with the English people. In the evenings it’s fairly easy to meet back up and have everyone together as there is a bit of a standard route for the night: Nanas backpackers hostel for free vodka 7 to 9 pm, Sakura bar for cocktail happy hour until 10, Gary is Irish bar for cheesy tunes and dancing until midnight then one of the Riverside bars for afters if you’re not too tired (which most of the time I was).

    It was good to see the Pai people before everyone splinters after Laos. They were really the first people I made good friends with on this trip so they have a special place in my heart. Gina and Dan of travel together since Pai and Adam who I think I bumped into in four places now (Plus Sarah and Michael who are off somewhere else in the world).

    Zip lining was on Monday, my first full day, Then on Tuesday I joined the English guys on a visit to the blue lagoon. I made the mistake of using a scooter as there were nine of us, one too many for the four person dune buggies. I swiftly realised why most people use buggies instead of bikes as I was rattled to the core by the roads that were pretty much just dust and stones. Anyway we had a good day jumping, swinging and swimming about the lagoons, albeit slightly cut short by the fact we had left a bit late in the day.
    Read more