Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16–17

    Last day/night in Santiago

    April 28 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 41 °F

    Woke up leisurely without having to pack my bags. Had an incredible breakfast at our beautiful hotel. It was a buffet to behold. Plus eggs and bacon made to order. Went back to my room and started packing. 😂 I later got coffee at a lovely cafe on the main drag. Then walked around on and off throughout the day. Also took a bath in the soak tub! Walked 7 miles today. Took myself to Lume, a Michelin rated restaurant, for an incredible burger. Gelato twice today! Found a great restaurant for dinner that we all loved and Adriana was so kind to make us a reservation. Met Gus and Adriana for drinks at the Hotel Vella in the garden terrace. Such a clean and pretty city. All walkable. Visited the cathedral today and lit candles for three remarkable friends that have passed this month, Jim S., Dick W. and Bill C. Watched NPC service online and that made me happy to see my mom, etc. It is time to come home. Louise and Karen left early this morning so our crew is down to six. Dinner was fabulous- salad, calamari, steak and paella, topped off with gelato obvi!! Tomorrow Liz, Katy, Rod and I head to airport at 10 am to fly to Madrid at 1:45. Then Madrid to JFK. Homeward bound after one more buffet breakfast. It’s freezing here tonight. Like in the 50’s. My knee hurts, my body aches and we have all hit a wall. It’s time to go home. There’s no place like home. ❤️Read more