衛星
マップで表示する
  • 日4

    Greek Leader (Q4)

    2023年5月12日, ギリシャ ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    Question 4: Regarding the Greek leader that you researched, what did you learn while we were in Greece that helped you understand him or her in more depth?

    Agnodice of Athens is know as the first midwife and female doctor. She was a strong woman and a strong leader. Some scholars think Agnodice was just a story, that she was not a real person. After traveling to Greece and being in a lot of different parts of Athens, I did not see or hear anything in regards to Agnodice specifically. I still believe Agnodice could have been a real person. There were many places in Athens (and Greece in general) we did not get to go, so it is possible that there is information on her somewhere we did not get to visit.
    I was really worried that I would not find ANYTHING suitable for this question while we were on the trip. While walking in Athens one evening we walked past the place in the photo. When I originally saw "Med Homecare Athens" I thought it was some kind of home healthcare agency which fits well with Agnodice's story since she was a midwife and doctor's back then traveled to their patients. As I am writing this I looked at the photo again. I believe my original thought was incorrect and that this is in fact a store for in home healthcare items and devices. I still think this place relates to Agnodice well, whether it is what I originally thought or what I think now. I think a place like this would really intrigue Agnodice and perhaps a place she would find useful.
    もっと詳しく