Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 55

    Day 55 - Paternoster/Tietiesbaai

    May 9, 2022 in South Africa ⋅ ☀️ 15 °C

    As arranged on Sunday evening, on Monday morning Karen, Trevor and I took, what I was tricked into believing, an early morning 'gentle' jog around Langebaan. What was I thinking? Karen, a four times 'Comrades' finisher, and Trevor (@ 77years old) and a 10 times 'Comrades' finisher (9 Silvers).... man did I get my ass given to me! Nevertheless such a beautiful 6km, mostly with a view down over the Langebaan Lagoon, which is a salt water mass slowly silting up due to the Saldanha Harbour piers that have over the years influenced the tides and flow of sand in and out of the bay.😖

    After breakfast Karen and I took a day drive around this West Coast peninsula. We drove out on the R27 towards Vredenburg and Velddrift. My Woolies work mate, Terry who we met in Arniston
    weeks before, was not at home in Britannia Bay, so we moved on through to Paternoster and Tieties Bay (of course an obvious favourite of mine)!!!😂

    Thankfully, on past the stench of the Lucky Star, Glenryck, and Saldanah Pilchards harbours and process plants onto the breathtaking bays of Paternoster and Tieties. We spent the better part of our day, just sitting on the rocks and observing what happens here, every moment of everyday and everynight, with or without us! Not a single person in sight at Tieties, and God must be thinking, what a waste of my time and effort, and I'm thinking, thank God nobody else is here! By now you and I know why?

    Nostalgic memories of diving here in this West Coast Crayfish Mecca, where we spent life-changing hours in ice cold waters, with great mates, in and around heavens under the sea. Cold beers, to warm one up after these freezing but awesome dives and unforgettable moments, probably never to be experienced, again in my life😥

    Looking out over the rock formations and massive boulders sprinkled across the bay, is spiritual, how, when and why?

    Back into the Paternoster village, which has been nothing but f¥€ked-up, by ghastly modern residential, retirement developments. Going back to the 80's and as recently as the 90's, this was a genuine and authentic fishing village. Sounding like an 'old fart' I know, but.... whatever!

    Karen says that I "must irritate myself"? Sometimes, too true!

    Reluctantly we returned to civilization and the bustle of Langebaan, traffic and people! We sat in the car next to the Langebaan beach and thumbed some overdue 'blogging' by now, running a few days and so many beautiful moments behind!

    Back at Trevor and Rina's, we saddled up to go out to dinner at Club Mykonos. Delicious Hake & Chips, and equally delicious beverages, with a guy singing greatest hits as the sun set over the Mykonos Yacht basin, was a super end to another unforgettable day in this stunning country.

    Love, Peace and Light.

    M&K
    👍💐
    Read more