Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 75

    Day 75 - Vioolsdrift

    May 29, 2022 in South Africa ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    Saturday morning Boardroom meeting was fearsome! This morning was about taking stock, counting the losses and regrouping! Collateral Damage included some pot handles, loose table screws, and Woolies top-notch Rusks, now top-notch muesli! Nothing too costly other than the microwave oven that, in addition to it now being quite rowdy, smokes profusely from behind, which I'm guessing cant be optimal! Other than that, damage has been kept to a minimum.

    So during the night and Karen rejects my accusation that it was her, out of hand and it certainly wasn't me, but someone had 'dumped' a foot away from the edge of our ground sheet!💩 Judging by the bore, it could well have been Pieters (the 'resort' manager) Boerboel or even Pieter himself, but by the coy look on some of the other camper's faces and the snigger and muffled chuckles as I walked by.... I suspect it was one of them!!!

    Whilst Karen cooked a few takeaway Curry's for further down the road later this week, I unpacked the Fortuner and wiped several hundred kilometers of accumulated dust inside the car! I had already cornered an off duty member of staff to give the car an outside wash! What for I'm still not sure? The first 100km to and out of the border gate tomorrow is gravel😖

    We settled into the Monaco Grand Prix on the banks of the Orange, simultaneously punishing a number of ice cold Windhoeks and equal numbers of Red Wine!

    Love, Peace and Light.
    M&K
    👍💐

    ***P.S.***
    Breaking News!!! 😖😖😖
    After I wrote this last night and before we posted this morning, the following happened!

    At around 04:00 this morning, and I suppose it was bound to happen, I was woken up by the Camp Managers dogs barking. Having now lay awake for over an hour and been out to the toilet and have a look around, I did hear light footsteps and a rustling of plastic. I unzipped the tent window and shouted, and then heard the @#$%^& @#$% run for it!

    AND THAT IS WHY I HATE PEOPLE SO MUCH!!!

    It so happens there was not much of value lying about anyway, A 6pack of Windhoek Draught, A 6pack of 'Buffelsfontein' RTD Bottles, a box of Wine and Karen's bag of knitting (99% complete) was what went missing. All of that, I'm sure you will understand... is not the point!!!! In the meantime Karen has discovered her ‘Havianahs’ have also been liberated🤬😤

    Love, Peace and Light,
    M&K
    👍🏻💐
    Read more