Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Adios Navarra

    September 26, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    I was off early and caught the sun rise coming out of Los Arcos. I managed to keep pace with other pilgrims for most of the day for the first time and had to get in a queue for food at the first cafe in Sansol because I was still surrounded by people. I managed to walk 18 km for the first time on the Camino and was in my next accommodation around two o'clock, which was much faster that I was doing earlier in the week.

    Everyday on the Camino so far has been beautiful. Olive groves give way to golden fields already harvested, endless villages with their magnificent bell towers and a smattering of Benedictine monasteries on hilltops. To the north all day were the cliffs of another mountain range and south further hills abound. A wise pilgrim has explained that the Camino is never flat and each day we climb up hill and down dale repeatedly.

    We share the path with many locals walking their dogs and their families, with school children on excursions, with the occasional crazy cyclists and apparently with a bunch of old guys doing a horseback Camino.

    Tonight I spend my last night in the Spanish State of Navarra and the Basque part of Spain. To celebrate I'm staying at the palace, well in a location where there was once a palace. Now it's just a modern hotel built inside the stone facade with bedrooms decorated in regal colours.

    But I soaked in the bath forever My feet are much better and I now only have localised sore spots rather than my whole feet dying, at least that was the case for 15 km. I did struggle with the last three, but I don't have another day longer than today for more than three weeks and lots of shorter days coming up. I might brave carrying my full pack for the 9km into Logrono tomorrow.

    (Sorry about the duplicate photos, can't delete them and to tired to repost the whole thing)
    Read more